From Vienna to Paris

  • Copyright Vlaamse Opera / Annemie Augustijns
  • Copyright Vlaamse Opera / Annemie Augustijns
  • Copyright Vlaamse Opera / Annemie Augustijns
  • Copyright Vlaamse Opera / Annemie Augustijns


From Vienna to Paris

01/01/2012 in Ghent - 03/01/2012 in Antwerp

  • Yannis Pouspourikas
  • Anneke Luyten
  • Gijs Van der Linden
  • Josef Wagner
  • Musical direction: Yannis Pouspourikas
  • soprano: Anneke Luyten
  • mezzosoprano: Andrea Hill
  • tenor: Gijs Van der Linden
  • bass: Josef Wagner
  • muzikale bezetting: Symfonisch Orkest en Koor van de Vlaamse Opera

Vibrant waltzes and French light-footedness

It is becoming a tradition: a festive start to the New year in Flanders Opera. This year we journey to the 19th century splendour of Paris and Vienna, the operetta and the waltz being the main ingredients. The cross-fertilisation between the musical style of both genres will not go by unnoticed in the work of, among others, Johann Strauss, Franz Lehár, Gounod and Offenbach. Waltz into the new year in style and let your New Year's resolutions be inspired by the joie de vivre of this exuberant music! 

New Year at the opera

Celebrate New Year at the opera with a champagne brunch! Price: €65 extra p.p. (incl. drinks). Book your tickets at the box office or online: order tickets for From Vienna to Paris on 1 January and mark ‘concert met vooraf champagnebrunch’ on the price list.


Tickets from € 10.00 to € 55.00


This concert is in the safe hands of our house conductor with French roots Yannis Pouspourikas: he has already successfully conducted Candide and will conduct season opener Mahagonny. Josef Wagner, who was very convincing as the villain in Semiramide, returns as the soloist. Another old acquaintance is the young Belgian mezzo-soprano Angélique Noldus, as well as two other Belgian young stars: Anneke Luyten and Gijs Van der Linden. Naturally, choir and orchestra cannot be missing from this musical feast.



Fragment uit Belle nuit, o nuit d'amour (uit: Les contes d'Hoffman - Offenbach) met Patricia Patibon & Karine Deshayes

Copyright Universal Music