Diaghilev Unbound

  • Copyright Johan Persson
  • Copyright Hugo Glendinning
  • Copyright Erik Berg

Intro

Diaghilev Unbound

From 03/10/2013 in Ghent - from 10/10/2013 in Antwerp

2013 marks the centenary of the premiere of Igor Stravinsky and Vaslav Nijinsky’s Le Sacre du Printemps. It was a milestone in ballet history and in the success story of Diaghilev’s ‘Ballets Russes’. Diaghilev Unbound is an evening that’s a true ‘tour de force’, with three ballets each reinterpreting a major choreography by Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes.

Les noces (world premiere)
The evening starts with a world premiere by the Romanian dancer and choreographer Edward Clug. He has been raising the profile of the Maribor Ballet in Slovenia for several years now. Having previously created an acclaimed version of Romeo and Juliet to music by Radiohead and winning several national and international prizes, he launched into a new choreography for Les Noces, that other iconic work by Igor Stravinsky.

CHOREOGRAAF Edward Clug / MUZIEK Igor Stravinsky / KOSTUUM Leo Kulas / DECOR Marko Japelj

Faun 
The Royal Ballet of Flanders is for the first time dancing a work by Flanders’ current public favourite, the successful choreographer Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. In his Faun he offers an alternative view of Nijinsky’s mythical solo to the impressionist music of Debussy’s Prélude à laprès-midi d’un faune. The theme of this impressionist work is sexual awakening. After the premiere the headline in The Independent was ‘A gleaming little wonder of a work’.

CHOREOGRAAF Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui / MUZIEK Claude Debussy, Nitin Sawhney / LICHTONTWERP Adam Carrée / KOSTUUMONTWERP Hussein Chalayan / INSTUDERING Jon Filip Fahlstrøm i.s.m. James O’Hara, Daisy Philips en Nienke Reehorst / OORSPRONKELIJKE PRODUCTIE Sadler’s Wells i.s.m. Eastman
 
Le Sacre du Printemps 
The evening ends with a work by the American choreographer Graham Tetley, who early in his career sought out the links between ballet and modern dance. We are presenting his legendary choreography for Le Sacre du Printemps, which was first performed at the Bayerisches Staatsballet in Munich in 1974.

CHOREOGRAAF Glen Tetley / MUZIEK Igor Stravinsky / KOSTUUM EN DECOR Nadine Baylis / BELICHTING John B Read / INSTUDERING Bronwen Curry

Practical

Tickets from € 15.00 to € 45.00

Media

Video


Photos


PLUS

Introduction

Introductions on specific dates:
- Fri 4/10 at 19h15
- Su 6/10 at 14h15
- Fri 11/10  at 19h15
- Su 13/10 at 14h15

Diaghilev Unbound

  • Copyright Johan Persson
  • Copyright Hugo Glendinning
  • Copyright Erik Berg

Introduction

Diaghilev Unbound

À partir de 03/10/2013 à Gand - à partir de 10/10/2013 à Anvers

Nous fêterons en 2013 le centenaire de la première de l'œuvre d'Igor Stravinsky et de Vaslav Nijinski, Le Sacre du Printemps, une œuvre maîtresse dans l'histoire du ballet et un succès incommensurable pour les « Ballets russes » de Diaghilev. Dans Diaglhilev Unbound, une véritable « soirée tour de force », les spectateurs pourront assister à trois ballets, qui réinterprètent chacun une grande chorégraphie des Ballets russes de Diaghilev.

Les noces (première mondiale)
La soirée débutera par une première mondiale du danseur et chorégraphe roumain Edward Clug. Depuis quelques années déjà, cet artiste fait les beaux jours du Ballet de Maribor en Slovénie. Après avoir créé une version très remarquée de Roméo et Juliette sur une musique de Radiohead et avoir remporté plusieurs récompenses nationales et internationales, il signe ici une nouvelle chorégraphie d'une autre œuvre majeure d'Igor Stravinsky: Les Noces.

CHOREOGRAAF Edward Clug / MUZIEK Igor Stravinsky / KOSTUUM Leo Kulas / DECOR Marko Japelj

Faun
C'est la première fois que le Koninklijk Ballet Vlaanderen interprétera une œuvre du chorégraphe à succès et du chouchou du moment du public flamand, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Dans son interprétation de Faun, il jette un regard alternatif sur le solo mythique de Nijinski, ainsi que sur la musique impressionniste de Claude Debussy, Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune. L'éveil sexuel est le thème de cette œuvre impressionniste ; après la première, le journal The Independent a titré en une : ‘A gleaming little wonder of a work’ (« Une brillante et magnifique œuvre »).

CHOREOGRAAF Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui / MUZIEK Claude Debussy, Nitin Sawhney / LICHTONTWERP Adam Carrée / KOSTUUMONTWERP Hussein Chalayan / INSTUDERING Jon Filip Fahlstrøm i.s.m. James O’Hara, Daisy Philips en Nienke Reehorst / OORSPRONKELIJKE PRODUCTIE Sadler’s Wells i.s.m. Eastman

Le Sacre du Printemps
La soirée s'achèvera sur l'œuvre du chorégraphe américain Glen Tetley, un artiste qui, très rapidement, s'est mis en quête du lien existant entre le ballet et la danse moderne. Nous présenterons sa chorégraphie légendaire créée pour Le Sacre du Printemps, dont la première a lieu en 1974 au Bayerisches Staatsballet de Munich.

CHOREOGRAAF Glen Tetley / MUZIEK Igor Stravinsky / KOSTUUM EN DECOR Nadine Baylis / BELICHTING John B Read / INSTUDERING Bronwen Curry

Pratique

Billets à partir de € 15.00 jusqu'à € 45.00

Médias

Vidéo


Photos


PLUS

Introduction

Des introductions à:
- Ve 4/10 om 19h15
- Di 6/10 om 14h15
- Ve 11/10  om 19h15
- Di 13/10 om 14h15